AGM 2021

The APPG had our 2021 AGM on 27th April, you can access a copy of the formal minutes below.

After the formal business of the AGM, Julie Robinson, ISC CEO, spoke about the challenges independent schools have faced during COVID-19, as well as how they have been able to help their communities through the pandemic.

Teachers and pupils at independent schools faced many of the same difficulties as their colleagues and friends in state-funded schools. In the immediate onset of the pandemic, schools adapted rapidly to home-learning, remaining open for vulnerable children, and the children of key workers. Where possible, independent schools worked with local authorities to offer spare capacity for vulnerable and key-worker children whose schools could not remain open. As the pandemic progressed, boarding schools offered over 10,000 beds to local authorities and NHS trusts to house key workers who could not return home for fear of infecting their families.

Independent schools have faced financial challenges through the pandemic, seeing reduced fee income and the sharp decline in international boarding students. Nevertheless, school closures have been limited, and the sector is hopeful for the future.

As schools are beginning to return to normal, independent schools are welcoming back their own pupils, and exploring how partnerships can support pupils in state-funded schools. Before the pandemic, there were already more than 11,500 partnerships involving independent schools. Schools have used these relationships to support remote learning and provide digital devices, and are now considering how they can contribute to learning recovery.

Vice Chairs

We’d also like to welcome our new and returning Vice-Chairs, elected at the AGM:

Lord Knight of WeymouthBaroness Garden of Frognal
Lord LucasLord Naseby
William Wragg MPBrendan Clarke-Smith MP
Sally-Ann Hart MPJane Hunt MP
Giles Watling MPChris Green MP
Sir John Hayes MPSir Graham Brady MP
John Howell MPGreg Smith MP
Philip Davies MPLia Nici MP
%d bloggers like this: